A Maxi Skirt and Matching Headband

Posted on

A dear friend and fellow crafter and blogger birthed the original maxi skirt (check out her post here: http://bit.ly/HoUuul)  and after this reached the internet another dear friend said she wanted one.

So here I enter into this story. With nothing more than just looking at the photos I figured I could probably make this happen. We made our way to Joann’s to purchase a knit fabric (decided on a nice olive-y green), thread and yes, another elastic band (this time I used a really wide yoga-ish band for comfort and effect).

After taking measurements and such I got started but let me tell you…working with a knit fabric was not as simple as I had thought before! It’s so so stretchy and that makes it really hard to control which makes me frustrated….

But I finally finished it and besides some final sizing tweaks, it is done! Due to an extreme overestimation on my part, I made her a really adorable headband from the same fabric because I had so much left over!

Image

the skirt

Image

the headband w/ buttons!

Leave a comment